27.—Twenty-Second Ministry of New Brunswick, as at Oct. 31, 1959

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 18, 1956: 37 Progressive Conservative and 15 Liberal.)

Note.—Ministers are shown at date of original appointment as a Minister and at date of appointment to present portfolio, despite the formation of a new Ministry consequent upon the appointment of a new Premier.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment			Date of Present Appointment ¹		
Premier and Minister of Municipal Affairs Attorney General Provincial Secretary-Treasurer. Minister of Agriculture Minister of Health and Social Services Minister of Lands and Mines Minister of Labour Minister of Industry and Development Minister of Industry and Development Minister without Portfolio and Chairman, New Brunswick Electric Power Commission Minister without Portfolio and President of the Executive Council. Minister of Public Works	Hon. Hugh John Flemming Hon. R. G. L. Fairweather Hon. D. D. Patterson Hon. C. B. Sherwood Hon. J. F. McInerney Hon. N. B. Buchanan Hon. Claude D. Taylor Hon. Claude D. Taylor Hon. J. Roger Pichette Hon. J. Roger Pichette Hon. Edgar Fournier Hon. J. W. Bourgeois Hon. J. Stewart Brooks	Oct. Oct. Oct. Oct. Oct. Oct. Oct. Apr.	17, 8, 8, 8, 8, 8, 8, 8,	1952 1952 1952	Oct. Aug. Oct. Oct. Oct. Oct. Oct. Oct. Oct. Oct	1, 17, 8, 8, 8, 8, 8, 8, 8,	1952 1958 1958 1952 1952 1952 1952 1952 1952 1952 1952

¹ Minister not necessarily sworn in on date of appointment.

Subsection 5.—Quebec

The Government of Quebec consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council, and a bicameral legislature—the Legislative Council and the Legislative Assembly. The Legislative Council has 24 members nominated for life by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. The Legislative Assembly has 93 elected members and, like the Legislative Council, has the power to bring forward Bills relating to civil and administrative matters and to the amendment or repeal of existing laws. A Bill to be approved by the Lieutenant-Governor must have received the assent of both Houses. Only the Legislative Assembly can bring forward a Bill requiring the expenditure of public money. The maximum life of a Legislature is five years.

Salaries and allowances of the Premier, members of the Executive Council, Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly are fixed according to RSQ 1941, c. 7 and RSQ 1941, c. 4, as amended by 1952-53, c. 38 and 1957-58, c. 51. All members of Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council receive \$6,000 per annum as salary and \$2,000 by way of allowances; in addition, the Premier receives \$10,000 as salary, \$4,000 allowances and \$2,000 for lodging allowance; Ministers with Portfolio an additional \$8,000 as salary and \$2,000 allowances; Ministers without Portfolio an additional \$5,000 salary and \$2,000 allowances; the Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Assembly \$6,000 as salary, \$2,000 allowances and \$2,000 for lodging allowance; and the Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council and the Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Council each receives \$7,000 as salary, \$2,000 allowances and \$3,000 for office allowances.

28.—Lieutenant-Governors of Quebec since Confederation, 1867-1959

Name	Date of Commission			Name		Date of Commission		
Hon. Sir Narcisse F. Belleau. Hon. Sir Narcisse F. Belleau. Hon. Remé Édouard Caron. Hon. Luc Letellere de St-Just. Hon. Théodore Robitalle. Hon. L. F. R. Masson. Hon. A. R. Angers. Hon. Sir Joseph A. Chapleau. Hon. Lous A. Jetté. Hon. Sir Lous A. Jetté. Hon. Sir Lous A. Jetté. Hon. Sir Charles A. P. Pelletier. Hon. Sir François Langeller.	Jan. Feb. Dec. July Oct. Oct. Dec. Jan. Feb. Sept.	31, 11, 15, 26, 4, 24, 5, 20, 1,	1868 ¹ 1873 1876 1879 1884 1887 1892 1898 1903 ¹ 1908	Hon. L. P. Brodeur. Hon. N. Pérodeau. Hon. Sir Lomer Gouin. Hon. H. G. Carroll. Hon. E. L. Patenaude. MajGen. the Hon. Sir Eugène Fiset.	Oct. Jan. Dec. Apr. Apr. Dec. June Oct.	21, 31, 8, 31, 2, 29, 30, 20, 3,	1918 1923 1924 1928 1929 1934	

¹ Second term.